Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought that I had read earlier in the year that the age was 13 and younger on a <26ft boat had to wear life jackets while underway.

I was just at the FWC's webpage and it says:
http://myfwc.com/RULESANDREGS/Rules_Boat.htm
</p>
<LI>A child under the age of 6 must wear a USCG-approved Type I, II or III personal flotation device while onboard a vessel under 26 feet in length while the vessel is under way. "Under way" is defined as anytime except when the vessel is anchored, moored, made fast to the shore or aground.


Am I losing my mind --- did they lower the age limit?</LI>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
I believe the child under 13 years old wearing a life jacket is for Federal waters. Its under 6 for Florida state waters in vessels less than 26 feet
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
296 Posts
kman (21/04/2010)I believe the child under 13 years old wearing a life jacket is for Federal waters. Its under 6 for Florida state waters in vessels less than 26 feet

Where did you see that federal water rule? Just curious.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
210 Posts
Carefully check for the proper flotation device details for the child under 6 regs; as I had my grand-daughter (5 years old) onboard about a year ago, with "Child" flotation devices within reach of her.......but found out the hard way that the "Child" life preserver I had was not the correct type for my grand-daughter (size / age / weight.....can't remember exactly what they quoted was the problem). OUCH - The fine FWF gave me was like $78 or $87. Put a bit of a damper on that day's boat outting / "pleasure trip".
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,054 Posts
I had never heard the fed thing either, In fact, I thought it was, at most, a recommendation rather than a regulation.

I do think that PWC's have a stricter law in FLA state waters...

Brent
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top