Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve been fishing with Delynn for about 7 yrs now. We have always had great trips and most times we have epic trips. My boys have caught lots of first as in first grouper weighed in at 48lbs, we’ve caught coolers full of giant mingos, fire trucks, gags, scamps, almaco jacks and stud red snapper. Well our most recent trip on July 6th topped the cake. We had caught our limit of great snapper, several Almacos and were working on some grouper. The bite was slow so we decided to reel up to changes spots. Well...about half way my friend Landon Coker and the Penn 4/0 gets slammed down to the gunnel. The fiberglass half hitch boat rod was bent over like a pool noodle. At first we thought big shark but as the fight went on it became apparent it was not a shark. The fish made three really big runs and almost spooled the reel once. Twice we had it to the top shot. But it wouldn’t give up. Delynn worked is butt off hand lining the fish while I worked the boat. I’m confident that we wouldn’t have landed the fish without him. He hand lined the fish for the last 30-40 minutes until my youngest son stuck the gaff in it. The fish that we fought and landed was a 154.6 lb yellowfin tuna. I’m definitely glad that we had the twin(hands) Delynn drag system on board. He had blisters on both hands when it was all said and done. Here’s another kicker...it was Landon’s first trip offshore. I guess there might some truth to beginners luck. I posted a video link that has some of the pictures from through out the years. It’s not the best, but paints a picture of fishing with my friend Delynn Sigler

https://
uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190712/2830322459dcf71fe9c15a086c721fdf.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
28,499 Posts
Dang, glad ya'll have hit gold a few times! Times to remember!!!

·
Registered
602 Posts