Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never had much luck fishing in Choctahatchee Bay until I started studying the bathometric maps of the North side of the Bay after fishing in Horseshoe Beach in a similar area. There are miles of grass flats that surprisingly have some pretty impressive terrain changes that I discovered on my Navionics mobile app. If you zoom in on the app you get a lot more detail that shows you where the lines are. Once I figured out what water depth the fish were in I was able to follow the terrain lines and pick up a couple of nice reds.

Attachments

·
Jiggin Finatic
8,546 Posts
Just curious what part of the bay are you fishing in? Ft Walton, Destin, Niceville, Mid bay, San Destin? Just wondering!

·
Jaded Old Phart
5,914 Posts
Both screenshots are E of Alaqua Bayou. Tough for sure cause the water is so tannic. By the time you see bottom, it's too late and you might come to a sudden stop!

·
Jiggin Finatic
8,546 Posts
Both screenshots are E of Alaqua Bayou. Tough for sure cause the water is so tannic. By the time you see bottom, it's too late and you might come to a sudden stop!
I have never been to that end. I fish around Ft Walton, Destin area. I was just curious. I don't have navionics either.

·
Jaded Old Phart
5,914 Posts
I have never been to that end. I fish around Ft Walton, Destin area. I was just curious. I don't have navionics either.
Ever fish Rocky Bayou? Water is similar to that.

Was surprised to hear about the grassbeds tho.

·
Jiggin Finatic
8,546 Posts
Ever fish Rocky Bayou? Water is similar to that.

Was surprised to hear about the grassbeds tho.

No not on that side at all. Just the Destin side, and Ft Walton and surrounding area.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Jaded Old Phart
5,914 Posts
No not on that side at all. Just the Destin side, and Ft Walton and surrounding area.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk