Pensacola Fishing Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry for the late and long report, and I'm not sure where this should go but...

Was able to get down to fish w my Dad last week. On Monday the 12th, we were able to get out into the Gulf, caught a bunch of bait (mostly cigs) off a buoy outside the pass and headed to the area of Oops Barge. First drop and got my (keep in mind I'm a newb) PB red snappa. I truly didn't think it was a snapper, he was obviously pissed that I hooked him but we got him on the deck and it was nothing short of AWESOME! Trolling motor was on vacation and we only got the one keeper that day. It was just chop enough Dad wasn't happy so we decided to head in. Then he say's, "hey what's that?" I say, Bonita! Pre rigged rod for just such a beast, and I threw a chartreuse bucktail jig with a pink twister tail and bam! Got us bait for tomorrow.

Tomorrow came and went with the weather but fixed the alternator in his truck and had a great sub at American Hero's in Navarre. On Wed. the 14th, we tried to get into the Gulf but, was too rough for Dad. We went back inshore and watched the Blue Angles practice. I love that, n Dad did too. We went to my "honey hole" I marked in the bay in hopes of getting some more ARS but, four sharks later Dad say's dude, "all we got is sharks" (one was at least 4' and Dad whooped that thing like nobodies business), I dunno bout a honey hole": Fine ole man, onward we go.

Pulled up under the bridge of what I will call "despair", (IE; Skanska knock it down then put it back up). Got two nice reds, a stingray, oddly (at least for me) a keeper Snappa, and of all things, another small shark. All on the candy bait of Bonita.