Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,216 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this sport so I apologize for blowing this forum up with a questions. I've been researching fish finders for a few days now, I'm looking for the best bang for the buck. Originally I was looking at the piranha series by humminbird, but now I think I need one with GPS. So what's the best combo? I don't really want to spend over 200.00, however I will entertain the idea. Also, is GPS necessary? I plan on doing a little offshore fishing, and a lot of inshore and bay fishing. Thanks for any help and input!!

·
Registered
361 Posts
Lowrance elite 4. It's the perfect size for a kayak and has gps on it. You can mark locations in the gps, set way points, plug in coordinates etc...I wouldn't say the gps is absolutely necessary but it would make life easier out there.

·
Registered
538 Posts
I bought the Hummingbird model 587 color fish ID GPS combo, last summer, I use it on inland lakes and Lake Michigan to depths well over 200', it is a great all around unit, But it is 400.00 to $500.00

Kevin

·
Registered
1,216 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the input. I did tons of research, I think I will get the Lowrance Mark 4. Several places are selling it for 199.99.

·
Registered
5,780 Posts
I got the mark 4 and have been happy with it. The only thing u must be careful with is the rubber door for the memory card u have to make sure its closed propery. If its not just right it falls open and can let water in.

Other then that its been great

·
Registered
361 Posts
I got the mark 4 and have been happy with it. The only thing u must be careful with is the rubber door for the memory card u have to make sure its closed propery. If its not just right it falls open and can let water in.

Other then that its been great
You can also apply some silicone sealant over the slot to be safe.

·
The Yakslayer
590 Posts