Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Debated all night if I should get up early and try to fight the wind. Alarm goes off and away we went. The wind was ok at 6am, but I new the bay was going to be nasty so we went in the bayou off 17th. Decided to throw out a live shrimp and let it sit while I threw a jig. Probably 10 mins later, my rod with the shrimp on it, bowed over and the tip hit the water and then the fight was on. This is a true testament for powerpro.

I use a 6 1/2 ft medium action pole, a penn infinity 2000, with 2diameter 10lb powerpro. If I was using regular mono, I would have gone home with 0 fish on the boat. BUT I had my faithful powerpro and look at the result! I am new to salt water fishing for most part, but I believe this is a black drum, is that correct? I had scales that hold 30lbs,but he is over 30lbs and so I dont know exactley how much he weighed. Took two of us grabbing each side of the net to get him on the boat, I know that much!

I caught one other 18inch speck, then the wind picked up and I packed up. After the 10+ min fight, I was stoked and could have cared less if I caught anything else.

Glad I got up for sure!

Fish on

·
Banned
1,953 Posts
man theres about 8- 10 of those that live around the bridge. If you get up early you can find them tailing all around. hope you released it. If you didnt, then cleaned it, you wont kill another.:doh

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
I let him go, wasnt sure what it was or if it was even worth keeping.