Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Big Dummy
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!
I am new to the kayaking scene. So new, in fact, that I don't even own one yet. But, that's why I'm here. :)
I'm just now getting back into fishing after a many year break. Initially, I wanted to get a smallish boat to putt around in rivers/bays. After using a friends kayak a few weeks ago, doing a bit of research on kayak fishing and lots of thought, I have decided to skip buying a hole in the water and go for a kayak.
I'm having trouble deciding what kind/size of kayak I need/want to get. I am fat. Big boy fat. Five foot 10. Three hundred pounds. What size kayak should I be looking at? The one I was using was a 13 ft Malibu of some kind. It seemed fairly stable and handled well. Also...at first...I was intending on buying a used yak. But, as I am researching, I think I may opt for a new unit. I'm really interested in the Native Propels, Hobie Mirages and NuCanoes. So, tell me to lose some weight and talk to me about a good entry point for doing some river/bay/sound fishing in a kayak.

·
Big Dummy
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
That looks like a nice one. 3k is a bit steep for me at this point. I really want to stay below 2k.

·
Registered
765 Posts
Save yourself some money and go with a Pro Angler 14. Youll eventually get one any way.

This... Just look on craigslist or the for sale forum on here... you can find a good used one for around $2000-$2300..

The PA 14 was my first "fishing kayak" that I bought and haven't looked back... only downside is it's damn heavy

·
Registered
765 Posts

·
Registered
765 Posts
Propel has reverse where the mirage does not... only bad thing is when you get into shallow water the propel drive will have to come out of there so you don't run a ground... the mirage drive you can push all the way in one direction and it will flatten against the bottom of the boat

·
Registered
765 Posts