Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I’m new to boating and new to the forum. I’m looking for sandy beaches to take the boat out for a short cruise before being able to park and play for a while. Preferably something that easy for novice boaters. I have a old 19ft fiberform sterndrive that we recently bought. It’s my first boat with very limited boating experience. It’s a trial to see how much boating we’ll accomplish with two young children and decide to upgrade or sell depending on usage. We went to Fort Mcree last weekend and had fun. I’m just curious what other options there are. Thanks!

·
Jaded Old Phart
5,719 Posts
If you want a long boat ride, there's the spoil islands in the ICW in front of Hurlburt Field.

·
Registered
2,553 Posts
If you want a long boat ride, there's the spoil islands in the ICW in front of Hurlburt Field.
One of those is called Spectre island. Nice place to hang out. There are also islands across from Galvez landing near Perdido Key.

With an old boat and limited experience, a Sea Tow membership is a must.

·
TJ McBoatFace
317 Posts
Depends on where you launch & how far you want to ride. Truthfully, drive around find a place that isn't crowded, has the amount of sand & people you want to be around and call it good.

Here's the soundside beach near Portofino.

·
Registered
5,677 Posts
New to boating..... So how much chain on your ground tackle.....Ground Tackle = Anchor line, chain and anchor.

One of the biggest things we see is not having enough chain.....Then you can't get anchored. Then your snagging other peoples anchor lines or.....Never getting hooked up and running into other peoples boats.

I bring this up because it's seen all the time....New boat owners don't know.