Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi people, I'm really new to boating and I'm not sure for how long I should flush my 25 years old outboard engine with fresh water after running it on the bay.

I read a few discussions about flushing the engine or not and to me it seems pretty obvious I should keep doing it.

I keep the boat at home and I don't like the noise and smoke that happens when I flush the engine (I use that hose attachment thing instead of a bucket or a barrel), so I would like to know for how long the engine should be flushed.

Also, I once saw boaters doing the flush proccess on a public ramp in Destin but the two ramps I know around here (Navy Point and on the Gulf Breeze side of the 3 mile bridge) don't offer that option.

Is there a ramp on this area that offers that?

Thanks.

·
Registered
4,244 Posts
Flushing your engine is the one most important thing you can do after use. weather salt or fresh water there is still lots of stuff that gets sucked up. but flushing in salt water is especially important, the longer the better. i would never flush shorter than 15 minutes. this allows the engine and exhaust to get hot and that helps get all the salt out.. just keep in mind in a salt water enviroment, fresh water is your best friend. the more the better..

·
Super Moderator
28,608 Posts
What Kenny said is as much info that you need!

·
Registered
1,501 Posts
I use the flushing hose built in to the side of my 150 Yammi, and run for about 15 minutes. I was told not to run the engine while flushing this way. Is this effective?

·
Fabricator
887 Posts
Buckyt,

We too have a 2006 Yamaha F150; and I also flush out engine using the side hose for 15 minutes instead of using a foot attachment. I personally do so; due to Yamaha recommends it this way in the Owner's Manual for it is also designed to be flushed this way; for it explained in owners manual will help reduce unecessary wear on the engine.