Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
656 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been battling this stuff for about three years. I have used every chemical on the market with varied success. I always seem to get it "somewhat" under control, and then it pops back up later in the season. What are your experiences with this stuff??? It also seems to onlygrow in certain areas of my yard. Some are in full sunlight and get plenty of water and some are in shade with very little water. I have noticed that it grows and spreads off ofa subterranean "vine/root". How do you kill this yard demon???????????

·
Registered
2,054 Posts
In the shade, the moisture remains longer..
In the sunny areas with plenty of water it is excessive water... The proper watering method isn't twice a week or every other day... It is based solely on your lawns needs... To determine the proper interval is simple, only water at the first sign of wilt of the lawn grass, it will be folded leaf blades and a slightly pale look as you are only seeing the backs of the blades which are less vibrant green... At this time you want to water to 1/2-3/4 inch of water over the entire zones. Each zone may not need the same time running. To determine the elapsed run time is to randomly place wide shallow cans like tuna or cat food. When they average the right amount... it is time to shut off the water.

Following this procedure will cause the roots of the lawn to extend in depth and will eventually require less watering as the soil down deep will stay moist longer.

The good part of following this is multi fold... Lawn grasses average a root depth of 8-12 inches under ideal situations. The weeds we deal with generally have shallow roots from 0 (surface) to 3-4 inches. the dollar weed and "water sedge" cylinga [sp] are 2 that have very shallow roots...

As for killing the existing dollar weed (won't do nothin' to sedge weeds) is 1.5 ounces atrazine per 1,000 sq. feet...