Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
364 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Destin and I'm buying a boat at the Miami Boat show. My intent is to fish solo offshore, trolling and bottom fishing. I'm looking for any advise to make thing easier for someone fishing solo.

A little about my planned boat:
I'm in search of a fuel efficient (marina fuel in Destin is $$$) 80% fishing 20% cruising with my wife boat. Something with Carolina flare, 24-27' with twin 150s that averages over 2.0 mpg.

Thanks for any advise!

·
Registered
955 Posts

·
Registered
528 Posts
You can do it, but be prepared!

We had a guy out of Gulf Breeze last year that was lost at sea. His boat was found off of the Mexican coast. He left on his birthday in the morning to go fish and never came back. He had a capable 30+ Boston Whaler. I don't think they ever found him.

At a minimum, I would have a wearable EPIRB, VHF radio, and some sort of auto ignition kill. Not the lanyard type, but a remote cutoff that kills the engines in the event you get pulled over board or fall over. Wearing a PFD of some sort would go without question. File your float plan and try to have a "buddy" boat to go with.

Cheers,

Bob

·
Squid technician
10,484 Posts
I have on a few occasions and there are plenty who do it, but I would much rather have someone on board for both safety and efficiency.

If you do go you need to file a float plan every time and be pretty specific on where you plan on going. You also need to have a handheld VHF attached to you and preferably an auto-tether that will allow you to roam freely on the boat and still activate the kill switch. Bring plenty of food, water and flares and a PLB

·
Registered
6,016 Posts