Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone involved in a fishing program that takes disabled veterans fishing? I am looking to volunteer for any local programs that are out there. I can donate time/boat/tackle to such a worthy cause.

·
Registered
1,459 Posts
I'm a Disabled Vet and I fish. Does that qualify me? :) Seriously, if anyone finds any info about such a program, please psot it here. I'd like to help.

·
Registered
2,282 Posts
We can organize such a thing. You will not find a more giving, caring, group of fisherfolk anywhere than on the PFF. For the last three years we have coordinated PFF folks who are willing to take kids out fishing on the Bill Hargreaves Fishing Rodeo. Last year we had over 20 boats volunteering.

I am preparing a West Marine seminar on "Fishing and Boating For The Physically Challenged", which will include prepping the boat for wheel chairs, getting on and off the boat, fishing from a wheelchair, and any related issue. I am looking for input, ideas and volunteers.

I have some challenges, so am preparing my 22' Panga CC for easy loading and unloading. Tim, at Breeze Fabricators will be working with me building a special T Top with grab rails, which will allow me to board more easily.

Now, I must sit on the dock, throw my legs over and struggle in, but it's worth it to get out on the water - getting some fish to eat is a bonus. I am designing a device that will be able to be temporarily mounted forward of the console and will capture a wheel chair.

How to get someone who is paralyzed on board is a major problem. On my sailboat, we use the mainboom, swung out over the dock, with halyards led to a winch, then the person in the wheelchair is eased into what we sailers call a "Butt Bucket", which is a heavy canvas, like a modified hammock and grommets in the corners. I have not come up with any way to do this on a smaller Center Console.