Pensacola Fishing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Havent got to fish since Snapper season. I am kind of new to Amberjack fishing. Plan on taking a friend and our kids out of Destin this weekend and try to catch some amberjack. I have a 19 ft boat, so I didnt want to get out too far. I know they like steel structure that has some relief to it. Can anyone give me some areas of where we may catch a few?

·
OSOK
4,167 Posts
Your best bet in close like that would be some place like the Liberty Ship 86 36.222, 30 18.376 It's not in very deep water so there is no need for heavy weights and your typical AJ rig. Just freeline some pinfish or pigfish behind the boat and let them swim down, if the AJ's are there it won't take long.

·
Registered
543 Posts
If your boat is reliable I would ease on out towards the Angelina, Mohawk chief, Deborah, paddle wheel boat, all of those are about 14 to 16 miles out straight past the Liberty Ship all local wrecks that usually hold AJS. goto fishing Destin guide.com to get the numbers if you don't want to go that far I think you would be better going off to the Eglin LCM 8 or the Janet as far as catching fish every time I die the Liberty Ship it's a ghost town it seems like! all of those numbers and tons more on that website.

·
Mines Bigger
2,647 Posts
If your boat is reliable I would ease on out towards the Angelina, Mohawk chief, Deborah, paddle wheel boat, all of those are about 14 to 16 miles out straight past the Liberty Ship all local wrecks that usually hold AJS. goto fishing Destin guide.com to get the numbers if you don't want to go that far I think you would be better going off to the Eglin LCM 8 or the Janet as far as catching fish every time I die the Liberty Ship it's a ghost town it seems like! all of those numbers and tons more on that website.