Pensacola Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Neptune calls me "Daddy"
9,445 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Leaving NAS P'cola today at about we saw a couple yearling and a couple doe's out and about in broad daylight just inside the fence on the north side of the road from Sherman Cove to the back gate ( I, ME, jim t, NON hunter,spotted them and had to point them out to Dave Woodley!!!)

jim t... "Are those deer?"

Dave... "where, where?..."

Second time...

jim t "Look, 2 more..."

Dave... " I saw 'em first... I just didn't tell you..."

shedevil:shedevil:poke:poke

These deer feel NO pressure on NAS except I think by very controlled hunts to cull the herd inside the gate. Those hunts are all by NAS personnel. I've NEVER seen deer along the fence line there before. I've been driving that road for 16 years.

They were 2 groups of two, a half mile apart not within sight of each other...

So, do deer KNOW?

I used to work at an "out field" in Jacksonville (a runway and a control tower, nothing more). The turkey were EVERYWHERE and would ignore cars during the off season, yet all but invisible during the season in aNON-HUNTING area.

Jim

·
Registered
179 Posts
Im sure they do but it isnt over until 30 min after sunset tomorrow. As for the deer you saw todaythe sun and moon are in very good places for deer movement in the afternoon. On field and stream they rate each hour of the day best score is 50 and today was high 40s from 4pm until 6pm

·
Registered
3,697 Posts