Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not sure if I should have posted this in off topic....
Anyone know of a place to get my first aid and CPR that is Coast Guard certified? Although I am a paramedic, I still don't have a "first aid" card. I was told by seaschool in Panama City that there is probably a dive shop here in Pensacola that would do it. Getting my six pack so I can teach sailing lessons.
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
540 Posts
AHA BLS (American Heart Association- Basic Life Support) is widely regarded as the gold standard for CPR provider certification. You are issued a card that is good for two years from the date of issue. If you want to go above and beyond as a private captain, you should seriously consider becoming PEARS certified, which is essentially a simplified version of PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life Support), or a CPR course for kids.

Irish Blessing, I'm sure you know most of this already as a paramedic, but it never hurts to have this info out there for the general public. Never know when somebody might code right next to you in Walmart!

·
Red Solo Kayak
1,269 Posts
Yeh afaik all CPR courses even the ones taught by ECEMS are AHA certified and should be accepted by all companies (even the USCG). Its been a while since i took an AHA or ARC CPR since my company offers their own CPR course but when i took one through AHA it didnt teach any First aid, just CPR and AED training with a lil scene assessment.

Also im surprised you still hold a Paramedics license w/o a valid CPR card. As an EMT-B i have to hold mine or else my license will lapse.

Back on course i would verify that ARC or AHA (American Red Cross//American Heart Association) would suffice as said before theyre the Gold standard when it comes to CPR.

·
Registered
2,577 Posts
There's a place on pine forest rd the does them every couple weeks. I think it's the fire training network or something or something like that.

·