Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can I catch a fish that is less then 2 pounds on a rod/line with minimal test less then 2 pounds?

I am just getting into spinning fishing and choosing parts for my first fishing system.

For example I'll have this rod (click me)

Model Length Power Line Weight (lb. test) Lure Wt. (oz.) Action Grip Grip

CLTX671M-S 6'7" Medium 2-8 3/16-5/8 Moderate Fast 9"

with this reel (click me)

Model Capacity (yds./lb. test) Gear Ratio Bearings Weight (oz.)

SON1000FB 110/6 6.2:1 4+1 7.7

and a 2 lb fishing line.

Will I be able to catch fish that is less then 2 pounds?, or it will be problematic?

Will I have any problems with through the bait to descent distances?

·
Super Moderator
19,477 Posts
RE: Can I catch a fish that is less then 2 pounds on a rod/line with minimal test less then 2 pounds?

Great choice in rod and reel. If you fishing the flats I would use 10lb suffix mono, if your using it around dock or jettys I would go with a heavier suffix braid. How will you be using the setup.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
RE: Can I catch a fish that is less then 2 pounds on a rod/line with minimal test less then 2 pounds?

Splittine (10/20/2009)Great choice in rod and reel. If you fishing the flats I would use 10lb suffix mono, if your using it around dock or jettys I would go with a heavier suffix braid. How will you be using the setup.
Thanks! I have three questions for you or anyone else who sees it first.

1. Wouldn't it be an overkill to use a 10lb fishing line for a fish that is less then 2lb?

2. Will a fish be able to see the line and perhaps be scared off because of it? I am some kind of sense in fishing lines of different lb testings, or all fishermen would just end up using a 10 pound line for all fish in 2 to 10 pound category...