Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just need some tips on how to go about painting a boat top and bottom any suggestions are welcomed thanx john

·
Registered
2,306 Posts
Hi John,

First a few questions.

What is the boat made of, wood, fiberglass, aluminum etc?

How pretty do you want it to be?

How long are you going to be keeping this boat?

Do you have spray paint equipment, skills and a place to do it?

How much money and time do you want to spend?

If you want a good job, spend a lot of time on preparation. Repair any damage, sand, fair, fill, sand again, prime, sand again, spray at least two coats.

Boat paint can cost from $50 a gallon to $350. Cheap stuff looks okay a year or so, expensive poly linear urethane looks good 8 - 10 years.

I have painted a lot of boats, but when I want a real pro job, I hire a "Gun" to do the final spraying. I traded a friend who is an airplane painter by trade some stuff for a prep and paint job on my 25'. Sandpaper alone cost me $94. High build primer, enough Interlux Perfection,(a 3 part poly linear urethane) cost me over $300, plus thinners, etc will take my material costs,(at wholesale) over $500.

Drop me a line or call me and lets talk about it.

Tom 572-1225

·
Registered
684 Posts
<BLOCKQUOTE dir=ltr style="MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">

Tom where do you get your materials? Are they local or do you use out of town suppliers like jamestown dist etc.

just curious I'm about to do mydeck and interior surfaces just wondering the best place to go for materials? Thanks jim</BLOCKQUOTE>

·
Registered
5,757 Posts
Depends on the brand paint you want to use.

You can get Awlgrip here in town cheaper than Jamestown dist., but they don't have "Everything".

Call Mark Johnson at Johnson supply. They are across from Will's Marine. Barancas & E st.

·
Registered
2,306 Posts
My suppliers vary with time frame and $$$.