Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What say you? I am considering trying to hunt river next year by kayak and would like to know what would be best entry level to be able to pack a deer onto kayak to get back to landing?

·
Registered
250 Posts
Hey K, I have been considered the same scenario. I used to hunt some of the WMRs along the MS river, but back then there were three of us in an aluminum boat. I want to start back at it up there, but this time I'll be by myself. I am by no means an old pro at kayaking, but I am fairly seasoned at public land hunting. I have a Perception Sport Striker11.5 that is a work horse of a yak but I think it has been discontinued. I think you need to focus more on hauling you and your gear while keeping you and your gear dry. My plan was to get some "noodles", cut them down to about 2', runs some rope trough the noodles, and when I killed a deer tie the noodles under the deer and tow it behind the yak. Now back to hauling gear. All I've ever used were sit on top yaks, and I'm not sure which would be better for staying dry. I do know however that sit on tops usually have larger cargo decks which will be ideal for climbing stands or a bow. Also focus on width and load capacity. My Striker has a load cap of 500#. Which means you stay higher out of the water and more stable( which don't usually go hand in hand). The deck on a sit on top will keep you on a lower center of gravity. I'm not sure how it will go over getting clunky hunting boots in and out of a sit inside yak. Here's a link to the Striker http://www.perceptionkayaks.com/product/index/products/angling_/striker_11_5_angler . If you can find one or something similar I think it would serve well. Like I said I have put a good bit of thought into this. Good luck and happy hunting.

·
Super Moderator
28,639 Posts