Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new here in the Pensacola area. I’m fairly new to bass fishing as well I’ve mainly fished trout and salmon up in Alaska and Wyoming where I grew up. I’m trying to get into bass fishing and was wondering where any good spots would be around here?

·
Premium Member
9,861 Posts
Friends don’t let Friends Bass Fish

·
Registered
1,700 Posts
I grew up bass fishing in North Carolina, lived for it, loved it for 30+ years. I am likely to get flamed for saying it, but the bass fishing here can be fun in a way, but it's not what most bass anglers would call 'bass fishing' in the classic sense. In this immediate area, the bass are generally smaller in size, probably due to competition with other predatory species like redfish, trout, ladyfish, stripers, etc... my point is, don't form your opinion on what bass fishing is like in other parts of the state or country on what you find here, just sayin. This area is kinda unique in a lot of ways with the tannic water rivers like Perdido and Blackwater, or the slow flowing stained Escambia River being your main freshwater flows. There are small lakes around like Hurricane, Bear, Karrick, and a few others but it can be tough at times.

Being a bass fishing enthusiast from way back, it's hard for me to admit it, but honestly chasing redfish has made me nearly forget about largemouth. Using a lot of the same tackle, I have found I really love catching reds as much or more than the largemouth, given the style of fishing that is available for largemouth here. I miss my reservoir bass fishing that I grew up with, but for this area, don't dismiss the redfishing. Again, just sayin. :whistling: