Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to talk to a teacher. I am a first year teacher and just want to chat about a few things. Thanks

Brett

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
I'm a teacher.. Let me re-phrase - I was a teacher and I am supposed to be a teacher, but since moving here from NC, I have not found any teaching positions~! :(

I am NC certified to teach K-12 Spanish.I have co-taught 7th grade band, K-12 ESL,I've taught K-5 Spanish, andalso substituted for grades K-5 in all subjects. I have7 years of teaching experience. Feel free to PM me anytime! :)

-Amanda

·
Registered
1,943 Posts
Anybody teach at West Florida High?

Knot a Yacht, it is required to take a foreign language in 10th grade, at least at WFHS.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Howdy- Yep. I'm a teacher. Been one for 35 years. I teach in south Alabama- Baldwin County. I've taught elementary. middle school, high school, college. I'd be proud to talk to you about the best job in the world-sometimes. Give me a holler- Ed Mashburn

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
Back where I'm from, high school students had a choice between Spanish, French, and German. Theywere requiredto take 2 years of one of those languages - didn't matter which. You know what most of them took? Spanish. Why? Because in most parts of NC everyone hires Mexicans to work and the kidswant to be able to talk to them and/or joke with them in the grocery store on Sundays, (not stereotyping,just being honest...)

Also, elementary kids took Spanish once a week. There were no"electives" for them to choose. They alltook art, spanish, music, pe in addition to their core subjects.It's different everywhere you go, but in Carolina,my K-5 kids saw me once a week & they loved learning a new language. :)

·
Registered
1,895 Posts