Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm just getting into hunting, and was hoping to get a little input from some of y'all that know what you're doing.
I live in Milton, so I'd probably start out in Blackwater WMA. I'll also be hunting with a gun (308).

What's public land hunting etiquette? Don't want to start off like a complete yahoo, lol.

What gear would y'all recommend to start out with? I've got some decent binoculars, and I'm looking at rangefinders.

Tree stand or ground blind?

Thanks for any input.

·
Registered
190 Posts
Well for me I drive around the area I want to hunt and make sure I'm not within a couple miles of anyone else. Use a treestand a good aluminum climber will be your best bet. I loved mine but after 5 back surgeries and a neck surgery I'm limited to ladder stands now. The gear you have will work great and be enough. Scout areas first using Google earth then go put in the leg work and find the deer trails, bedding and feeding areas and you will be gtg.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
190 Posts
If your archery hunting get you a range finder with angle compensation.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Just to start things off here as I know people will chime in.

As far as BlackWater, it gets hunted hard and often, also if you don’t have a quote permit look into which days you are actually allowed to hunt as to avoid any issues with the law. So get out and scout a lot, many times people will be in a spot you thought no one would get too, so need to have a backup at the drop of a coin.

Gear wise, this truly isn’t a huge deal, as long as you have some quality gear (boots, tree stand, safety harness, etc.) no need to get tied up in dropping serious coin on something you may hate in a year or two. So some basic Camo will work just be sure to dress weather appropriately.