Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been hunting Blackwater for a little bit now and wanted to try for a turkey. Been practicing my calls, but I have no idea how to go about finding them other than walking around with a crow call or predator call. Just looking for some do's and don'ts to pay attention to. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
60 Posts
I'm a beginner myself. Look at satellite maps for creek bottoms. Get there early and wait until the crows start giving it hell. Gobblers will usually sound off a few times. I'm still trying to figure out what to do after that.

·
Registered
555 Posts
Scout the night before and observe where the birds fly up to roost. Go in before daylight and sneak to within 100 yards of the roosted toms. You will have to be very quiet. Put out a decoy or two in the dark and find a good hiding spot. When the birds start chirping as it starts to get light start calling to the roosted tom. Hopefully you can call him off the roost and to your decoy.

If going in blind be there early. When the birds start singing use a crow call or a barred owl call to trigger the toms into gobbling so you can get a location and start your sneak. Get as close as you can before they fly down. Do as above and try to call the toms off the roost.

If you don't have any luck first thing don't despair. After the Toms service the hens in the morning the hens move off to go get on the nest. The toms will start cruising looking for other hens. You will also have satellite toms trying to find hens in the morning and may have luck calling them in to a decoy.