Theodore Canal 3/8/12 - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Kayak Forum > Kayaking Reports

Old 03-08-2012, 10:15 PM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default Theodore Canal 3/8/12

Hey, first post here, long time lurker. I'm new to kayak fishing, although i've been fishing all my life and kayaking for the past ten years. It took me until recently to take advantage of my close proximity to the theodore industrial canal in mobile. I've been a handful of times recently but this is my first report. I started fishing around 12:30 pm today and immediately hooked up on a couple small trout and trash fish (croakers) using gulp minnows (watermelon). After that it went cold. I fished from the bridge to the turn around in the back with nothing more than pinfish nibbles. I made my way back past the bridge and immediately hooked up on a keeper trout under some birds near some rocks. Then I fished out towards the point in the big turn around and back with no luck until I got back to the bridge and hooked up to a nice flounder. Both the speck and the flounder were caught on 3" new penny gulp shrimp on a 1/8 jig worked slow.

I have yet to really get into a mess of fish at the canal, i've caught a couple here and a couple there but i haven't seem to hit them at the right time yet. There was a lot of activity today but it seemed as though there weren't any big fish feeding. Here's a pick of the catch.

auwallace is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-08-2012, 10:17 PM   #2
Sailfish

Wirelessly posted

Congrats on the catch and welcome to the chaos.
Old 03-08-2012, 11:01 PM   #3
Squid technician
Grand Slam

Nice fish. Keep at it, the IC holds some big specks in the spring
Saturday 9-9
Chris V is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-08-2012, 11:04 PM   #4
Cigar Minnow