Anybody know a good gunsmith? - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Hunting/Shooting Forum > Hunting Firearms

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2019, 02:22 PM   #1
Senior Member
Mingo
 
blufire42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 113
Default Anybody know a good gunsmith?

Anyone know a reputable gunsmith in the Milton/Pace/Pensacola area?
I just got a new AR10 in .308 and it is having gas issues. I bought a JP G5 adjustable gas block but I guess I'm too stupid to install it properly, or just dont have the right tools
blufire42 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2019, 03:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
Grouper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gulf Breeze
Posts: 652
Default

I know you said north of I10 but the gunsmith at Oak Ridge (Eric?) in Navarre is good.
blufire42 likes this.
__________________
Tranquility
31 ft Cape Horn
Twin Suzuki 300's
Trble Make-rr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2019, 06:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
White Marlin
 
Boardfeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pace, FL.
Posts: 3,496
Default

Howard at Rumble wepnz is the go to guy.
You’ll need to make an appointment.
He is located in east Milton just off Hwy 90
http://rumblewepnz.com/

http://rumblewepnz.com/
blufire42 likes this.
__________________
How kind it is that most of us will never know when we have fired our last shot.
Nash Buckingham
Boardfeet is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2019, 07:31 PM   #4
US ARMY 2d ID VETERAN
Sailfish
 
CurDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Homeless
Posts: 2,278
Default

Go to the www.gulfcoastgunforum.com and look up Oneshot (JJ). Dang good smith and has his own range there at his place. He's up hwy 87N in Jay.

You need to open/turn the gas block adjustment a little with each shot until it functions as it should.If it's not ejecting, then ur gas block is adjusted all the way off. Just turn it to open the amount of gas coming thru it.
MrFish likes this.
CurDog is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2019, 02:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
Mingo
 
blufire42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CurDog View Post
Go to the www.gulfcoastgunforum.com and look up Oneshot (JJ). Dang good smith and has his own range there at his place. He's up hwy 87N in Jay.

You need to open/turn the gas block adjustment a little with each shot until it functions as it should.If it's not ejecting, then ur gas block is adjusted all the way off. Just turn it to open the amount of gas coming thru it.
I tried that process with 3 different ammo. One ammo never pushed the bcg back at all, and the other two only pushed it halfway back. This was testing until gas screw only had 3 threads left before falling out.


Sent from my SM-G930VL using Tapatalk
blufire42 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2019, 02:50 PM   #6
Splittine's step-pappy
Grand Slam
 
John B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pensacola Beach
Posts: 12,337
Default

Make and model on AR10? If I bought a factory new rifle that wouldn't run it'd be going back to the manufacturer. Obviously it's undergassed, could be a few different things. Gas port not being big enough, gas block not aligned... could be a buffer issue as well? Rifle length spring in a carbine buffer tube? Hmmm... we need more details.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
murfpcola likes this.
__________________
#MARLINLIVESMATTER
#BUYAMERICAN
John B. is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2019, 07:43 AM   #7
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Cordova park
Posts: 2,428
Default

So it would not run in stock form or it will not run now that you installed an adjustable gas block? If the factory gas port is too small then an adjustable gas block will not do anything to help. All it can do is restrict the gas more.
__________________
1996 24 FT Carolina Skiff
115HP C115 Yamaha

"This boat runs on gas, not thank you's"
murfpcola is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2019, 09:36 AM   #8
Senior Member
Mingo
 
blufire42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John B. View Post
Make and model on AR10? If I bought a factory new rifle that wouldn't run it'd be going back to the manufacturer. Obviously it's undergassed, could be a few different things. Gas port not being big enough, gas block not aligned... could be a buffer issue as well? Rifle length spring in a carbine buffer tube? Hmmm... we need more details.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Aero Precision M5E1. I bought their complete upper with 18" barrel and rifle length gas system. Bought their complete lower with rifle length receiver, fixed stock.

With original gas block it cycled "better", but still continuously got FTF, FTE, and double feed every shot or every other shot.

Tried different extractor and that didnt fix extraction issue, so I tried AGB and I must not have it aligned properly or like already said, the has port in my barrel is too small as is so all it does is restrict more gas flow

Sent from my SM-G930VL using Tapatalk
blufire42 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2019, 10:41 AM   #9
Senior Member
Mingo
 
blufire42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 113
Default

Looks like I should have had it aligned enough...so maybe gas port on barrel needs to be enlarged?

Sent from my SM-G930VL using Tapatalk
blufire42 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-29-2019, 07:58 AM   #10
Senior Member
Snapper
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Crestview, FL
Posts: 423
Default

There’s something else going on, gas isn’t your issue if the upper didn’t work to start with. I’d let one of the people mentioned above spend 15 minutes with it.
blufire42 likes this.
Cynical is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pensacola Fishing Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
How Did You Find Us?
Tell us how you heard about Pensacola Fishing Forum.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good Buys at Top Gun in Orange Beach Emerald Ghost General Discussion 1 11-27-2008 08:33 PM
The Further Adventures of The Fish Nerd....... Coryphaena General Discussion 26 11-19-2008 08:10 PM
What is most important to make a good first impression? Garbo Off Topic 11 10-30-2008 11:57 AM
( free freezer good for fish bait it is an older one but it works good free )a big one doodlebug Various Items For Sale. 4 03-23-2008 05:57 PM
Pretty Good Blog on UA Football Magic236 General Discussion 1 11-21-2007 02:08 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.