Thru hull transducer - Page 2 - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Kayak Forum > Kayak Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2013, 09:20 PM   #11
Senior Member
Trigger
 
GAjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: The plains
Posts: 361
Default

I went with the marine goop but I'm sure the duct seal will work fine. The only reason really being because I heard some had problems with the duct seal drying out/not holding permanently.
GAjohn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-20-2013, 09:47 PM   #12
Senior Member
Mingo
 
J.Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 124
Default

So its ok for the transducer to have duct seal between it and the hull instead of having it directly on the bottom of the yak?
J.Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2013, 09:50 PM   #13
Wet azz
Ruby Red Lip
 
Yarmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chipley, Fl
Posts: 33
Default

Yes. Basically i took about half of the duct seal and started pressing it into channel in the bottom and them press the transducer down into. It holds well. I have sprayed mine out numerous times, turned upside down, and hit it countless times and it has never jarred loose.
Yarmur is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-20-2013, 10:00 PM   #14
Senior Member
Mingo
 
J.Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yarmur View Post
Yes. Basically i took about half of the duct seal and started pressing it into channel in the bottom and them press the transducer down into. It holds well. I have sprayed mine out numerous times, turned upside down, and hit it countless times and it has never jarred loose.
Thats awesome, great info. Thanks to all of you guys for the help.
J.Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2013, 10:04 PM   #15
Wet azz
Ruby Red Lip
 
Yarmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chipley, Fl
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Roberts View Post

Thats awesome, great info. Thanks to all of you guys for the help.
No problem. Good luck with the install. Kayak rigging is about as fun as the fishing.
Yarmur is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2013, 11:17 PM   #16
Senior Member
Grouper
 
FLSalomon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 947
Default

Have not used Duct Seal - but it looks promising. My transducers are glued in with marine Goop. The one in my Revo has been in place for over 5 years. Readings are accurate.

I glue a piece of foam down to create a well, fill the well with Goop and set the transducer. No worries.
FLSalomon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2013, 11:28 PM   #17
Senior Member
Mingo
 
J.Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 124
Default

Sounds like I cant go wrong either way.

Do you guys use Down Imaging, Sonar or both?
J.Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2013, 07:15 AM   #18
Wet azz
Ruby Red Lip
 
Yarmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chipley, Fl
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Roberts View Post
Sounds like I cant go wrong either way.

Do you guys use Down Imaging, Sonar or both?
Down scan here
Yarmur is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2013, 07:38 AM   #19
Wet azz
Ruby Red Lip
 
Yarmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chipley, Fl
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yarmur View Post

Down scan here
To follow-up further about DSI because this thread will wind up there. "Can I use DSI through the hull?"

Yes, you can. Yes, it will affect signal quality. No, the quality of the signal loss is not so much that renders the device useless. I'm not a sonar reading guru, so, i don't notice the effects of signal loss.

Would it be better in the water? Sure, but for me, the less i have causing any drag, the better.
Yarmur is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2013, 07:54 AM   #20
Senior Member
Trigger
 
GAjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: The plains
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yarmur View Post
To follow-up further about DSI because this thread will wind up there. "Can I use DSI through the hull?"

Yes, you can. Yes, it will affect signal quality. No, the quality of the signal loss is not so much that renders the device useless. I'm not a sonar reading guru, so, i don't notice the effects of signal loss.

Would it be better in the water? Sure, but for me, the less i have causing any drag, the better.
Wish I knew this before getting my elite-4. Saw a lot of folks saying DSI wouldn't be worth it for a thru-hull mount but I guess the described amount of signal lost was exaggerated.
GAjohn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pensacola Fishing Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.