Raggedy Primos cameras.. - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Hunting/Shooting Forum > Hunting Forum
Register Fishing Photos FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Advertise

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-30-2016, 03:19 PM   #1
DROP TINE BUCK
Blue Marlin
 
delta dooler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lucedale MS on Backstrap Farms
Posts: 5,532
Default Raggedy Primos cameras..

Round and round with Primos about one of their cams, luckily Walmart swapped it out for a different cam.


Hello,

I am writing to tell you about my Primos Bulletproof cam, I purchased it new last October from Walmart, it worked ok until late December then I put it away because it wasn't taking any pics.

I just put all my cameras back out a week ago, and the camera still will Kota take any pics, I've put new batteries In, I've tried several different sd cards. It just does not work.
How can I go about getting this camera repaired/replaced?
Serial number is 63053WM 14387

Date M06D03Y2015.

Looking forward to your reply.

Bryan
Sent from my iPhone


Thank you for contacting Primos Hunting Customer Support! A file or format on the SD card could be causing this issue. To prevent this, we recommend only using the card in the Primos camera, and viewing your pictures through a computer or SD card viewer.

Based on the information you have provided, I would like to try doing a full reformat on your SD card from a computer to see if this resolves the issue. Please follow the instructions for listed below (note the correct operating system).

WINDOWS 10 -
Insert SD card into computer (If a window opens, close it)
Press Windows key and X at the same time
Click on DISK MANAGEMENT
Locate the USB or SD card DRIVE you are using and RIGHT CLICK (This will open up a drop down box)
Middle ways down the box is the word FORMAT - LEFT CLICK FORMAT
Press START
Make sure that the File system is FAT 32 and uncheck the Quick Format Box if it is checked (We want a full format)
You will then get a Warning box that states all will be removed from card - CLICK OK
Once the card is formatted, you will receive a message on the screen that says FORMAT COMPLETE.
Insert the SD card into camera and turn on.

Other Windows Systems -
Insert SD card into computer (If a window opens, close it)
Left click on START
Left click on MY COMPUTER or COMPUTER (This will open all the icons in computer)
Locate in the REMOVABLE STORAGE section, the SD card DRIVE and RIGHT CLICK (This will open up a drop down box)
Middle ways down the box is the word FORMAT - LEFT CLICK FORMAT
Press START
Make sure that the File system is FAT 32 and uncheck the Quick Format Box if it is checked (We want a full format)
You will then get a Warning box that states all will be removed from card - CLICK OK
Once the card is formatted, you will receive a message on the screen that says FORMAT COMPLETE.
Insert the SD card into camera and test.
MAC -
Insert the card into an external card reader connected to your MAC - name should appear on your desktop
Open the DISK UTILITY application located in Applications > Utilities or use SHIFT-COMMAND-U from the Finder
Select the SD Card from the list of mounted drives in the column on the left
Select ERASE from the options across the top of the main window (Erase means format in this case)
Choose the MS-DOS (FAT) format from the drop down menu (You MUST choose this format)
Click the ERASE button beneath the drop-down menu, confirm, and wait for the card to format
Once complete, insert the SD Card into camera and test
If this does not clear up the issue, please call or email for more assistance.
Thank you,

Alex Fischenich
Customer Service Specialist
Vista Outdoor LLC | Primos Hunting
Phone: 800-523-2395 ext. 3



" we recommend using the card in the Primos Camera"

So it can only use 1 card??? That doesn't sound right....

I've actually formatted the cards like you've described to FAT32 so what is the next step? , the camera DOES NOT WORK. Is this going to be a battle going back and forth because Primos will not stand behind their products when a customer has a problem with their stuff? Or are you going to make this right and repair/replace the camera??

Sent from iPhone
Bryan

Bryan,

The recommendation is to not rotate cards between different brands/styles of cameras. For example, using the card in the Primos camera, then putting it into a digital camera, then back into the Primos camera.

If the troubleshooting information did not get the camera working, here is the information on sending your under warranty product in.

If you would like to send your product in, one of our technicians will review it and determine the warranty status as well as provide a quote for repair or replacement options. If it is within warranty, we repair/replace the item at no charge to you. If your product is outside of warranty coverage and/or timeframe, we'll contact you prior to doing anything with your item. Our turnaround time door to door on returns is 3-4 weeks.

Below is a link to the Primos U.S. repair site. It outlines where to send your product along with all of the other details you'll need to ship your item to us.

http://www.primos.com/support/u-s-repair-services/

If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to call or email.

Thanks for being a PRIMOS customer!

Best regards,

Alex Fischenich
Customer Service Specialist
Vista Outdoor LLC | Primos


3-4 weeks........no thanks, I just returned camera to Place of purchase and got a refund, I guess I've learned my lesson as to not purchase another Primos cam.

Bryan
Sent from my iPhone
__________________
delta dooler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2016, 03:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
Sailfish
 
Achim2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mobile AL
Posts: 1,409
Default

Glad you got your money back Brian!
__________________
Teach a man how to fish and hunt and you will never see him again.
Achim2 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2016, 03:46 PM   #3
Senior Member
Grouper
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 648
Default

My first question, after you already used multiple SD cards, is if the SD card had the right to protect switch on? That will keep your from taking images or seem like it doesn't work but other than that you took all the troubleshooting step you could take.... Clearly reformatting an SD card would not work because you have used multiple SD cards. If it isn't the SD card having the right to protect switch on then there has got to be something wrong with the shutter or the way it is taking the images. I am glad you were able to get it worked out.
Attached Thumbnails
Raggedy Primos cameras..-capture-png  
Brandon_SPC2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-30-2016, 03:46 PM   #4
lees way2
Grouper
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Avalon Beach
Posts: 1,184
Default

Now you can add #6 to your list and send them a photo. I had the same thing with moltrey last year, they said they dont sell parts or fix them any more. They said it was cheaper to go buy a new one,I said thanks plus a few more things and let them know if there name was on it I would not be buying.
lees way2 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2016, 03:48 PM   #5
DROP TINE BUCK
Blue Marlin
 
delta dooler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lucedale MS on Backstrap Farms
Posts: 5,532
Default

SD cards weren't locked, POS camera just quit on me.
Brandon_SPC2 likes this.
__________________
delta dooler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2016, 04:01 PM   #6
Senior Member
Grouper
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by delta dooler View Post
SD cards weren't locked, POS camera just quit on me.
I figured that, I would've called their butts up... So what camera are you going with?
Brandon_SPC2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2016, 04:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
Grand Slam
 
Try'n Hard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Santa Rosa County & Minter AL
Posts: 14,140
Default

Game cams are a crap shoot for sure - I have a "repaired from the factory" Primos that has turned out to be my best ever. Ya never know
delta dooler likes this.
Try'n Hard is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2016, 04:14 PM   #8
DROP TINE BUCK
Blue Marlin
 
delta dooler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lucedale MS on Backstrap Farms
Posts: 5,532
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon_SPC2 View Post
I figured that, I would've called their butts up... So what camera are you going with?
I've got a couple Moultries that I haven't had any issues with yet, WM was sold out of them so I picked up a stealth cam, it took some good pics of some deer last night, maybe it'll last a little while.
__________________
delta dooler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2016, 04:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
Mingo
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Milton/Pace
Posts: 109
Default

If you have not looked at the Exodus cameras take a look. They are on the high end but the build, quality and customer service is excellent. If you buy two cheap cameras over the course of a few seasons and they fail your better of buying a good one that will last. I have heard that they will be coming out with some more models soon.

http://exodusoutdoorgear.com

Here is their policy:
Warranty
The Exodus Lift, we set a mission to back every one of our cameras with a 5 year warranty. On top of designing and building our cameras to last, we quality control every single camera we sell in our Ohio headquarters. This has been and will always be one of our biggest fundamentals here at Exodus.

THEFT/DAMAGE PROTECTION
If your camera is stolen within it’s 5-year warranty, we’ll give you a new camera at 50% off the original retail value.

CUSTOMER SERVICE
Simply put, we just don’t do “Can I put you on a brief hold?” here at Exodus. If you ever need anything at all, text the word “Call” to 330-400-3034 and someone who knows our cameras inside and out will give you a call, typically within a few minutes. You can also email us for general inquiries and questions and get an answer by the next day.
mspooney is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2016, 07:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
Grand Slam
 
jaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milton
Posts: 10,201
Default

Buy your cams at wally world, spend $5 more and get 2 yr replacement. Works every time for me. They dont go bad for 2 years and a day then!
delta dooler likes this.
jaster is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pensacola Fishing Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
How Did You Find Us?
Tell us how you heard about Pensacola Fishing Forum.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.