tank O2 cleaning - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Scuba Forums > Gear Reviews and Q&A

Old 05-29-2008, 01:45 AM   #1
Grouper

Default tank O2 cleaning

I need to get an aluminum 100 O2 cleaned. I'm new to nitrox diving. I have not called any dive shops so I thought I would ask here first. Do all dive shops in the area do this and what is the going rate for this service. The tank is in hydro but will need to be vip. Thanks Ken
dsar592 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-29-2008, 07:53 AM   #2
Grouper

Send a message via MSN to bmoore
Default RE: tank O2 cleaning

This is a crock.

If a tank is going to have less than 40% o2 there is really nothing that needs to be done.

If you plan on putting more than 40% 02 I would take the valve off and apart, soak it in simple green and replace the o-rings with vinton and use 02 acceptable grease.

I have two ponies that hold pure 02 which I also scrubbed out the inside with simple green, rinsed and dried.

Next time your driving down the road take a look at a welders o2 setup. Not quite immaculately clean and he is putting flame to it!

Holy Sh** this is what the dive pros charge