Rebreather: Is it a "Death Trap" or the best thing since Nitrox? - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Scuba Forums > Gear Reviews and Q&A

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By WhackUmStackUm
  • 1 Post By bmoorediver
  • 2 Post By Geno

Old 06-18-2013, 11:19 AM   #1
Sailfish

Default Rebreather: Is it a "Death Trap" or the best thing since Nitrox?

Well I have been diving a rebreather for about 4 years now, and I'm still alive. (yay!) So I thought I would pass along my thoughts about rebreathers for any members who may be interested.

My background...

Before buying a rebreather:
  • Open water and nitrox certified
  • About 200 dives
  • Average dive depth: 100'
  • Deepest Dive: 145'
  • B.S. in Physics
  • Mechanically inclined and a bit of a "mad scientist"
Now:
  • Rebreathers: (3) Inspiration Evolutions setup for technical (deep) diving
  • Rebreather instructor, rebreather dive master, rescue diver, trimix gas blender, etc.
  • Hypoxic (low O2) Trimix certified
  • 400+ rebreather hours/dives
  • Average dive depth: 150'+
  • Deepest dive: 370'
  • Percentage of dives that I do on a rebreather: 99%
  • And still alive...
Observations...
Pros:
  1. I can dive 3-4 hours, over one or more dives, independent of depth one set of tanks an CO2 scrubber.
  2. They are virtually silent in the water. Since sea life will often approach you, it makes for a completely different dive experience.
  3. Fewer tanks are required for deep diving.
  4. Systems can be setup with multiple backup options should one component fail. In many ways I feel safer diving a rebreather then diving a regular scuba setup.
  5. "Bottom time" is extended on average about 20% over nitrox due to the constant high PPO2 maintained by the rebreather.
Cons:
  1. Rebreather upfront cost, training and maintenance are much more expensive than conventional scuba.