New to Spearfishing - advice needed - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Scuba Forums > Spearfishing

Old 08-28-2015, 02:31 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default New to Spearfishing - advice needed

Hey Guys... I am brand new to the sport of spearfishing and just got my first gun. I am planning to come down to Pensacola this weekend to test it out. My buddy and I plan to rent a kayak and head out to the USS Massachussets and from what I have read, it seems doable and a great spot to spearfish. The other thing is that we will be freediving. We are both experienced swimmers, but even so, is this spot even spearable for freedivers? If not, does anyone have a suggestion on a different spot that is accessible by kayak and shallow enough to spearfish freediving? I've looked at a few places listed on the link below and was also wondering about the Catherine Wreck. I see it's pretty shallow and close to shore. Anyone spearfished this wreck before? Any advice will be very much appreciated!

http://www.floridagofishing.com/reef...ia-county.html

Last edited by GASpear; 08-28-2015 at 02:36 PM.
GASpear is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-28-2015, 03:10 PM   #2
Snapper

I don't spearfish so I don't know how good of advice this is. I suggest you check spearboard as well for more information. The Mass is still quite a paddle out there for a kayak you are unexperienced and unfamiliar with and have never used to spearfish with it being your first time.

It seems needlessly dangerous to me. I would find a spot more inshore however I don't know of any.
CalvinandHobbes is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2015, 03:43 PM   #3
eating tasty
White Marlin