I'm new to this! - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Scuba Forums > Spearfishing

Old 04-11-2012, 12:09 AM   #1
Grouper

Default I'm new to this!

I have been looking at spear fishing and it looks adrenaline filled! I got some questions

1. Is breathing through a tank like snorkling?
2. Sharks. I know you get this a lot, but how much do they bother you? I would actually like to swim with them if I get a chance
3. Is it something a 14 year old can do?
4. We're you nervous about looking into the darkness in a distances underwater? I even got nervous snorkeling in Jamaica! Haha

Sorry for all the questions. Thanks for any help!
Dragsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2012, 02:56 AM   #2
White Marlin

[QUOTE=Dragsmoker;873548]I have been looking at spear fishing and it looks adrenaline filled! I got some questions

1. Is breathing through a tank like snorkling?
not to me, its better. its nice to know there is another breath when you need it. you will never forget your first breath of air underwater. almost wierd!
2. Sharks. I know you get this a lot, but how much do they bother you? I would actually like to swim with them if I get a chance
when i dove in pensacola 8 years ago, i saw the most sharks i have seen diving over there. only had two problems with them wanting the fish on the speargun. other than that, i would just see them and they would be on there way. i dive pretty much out of dauphin island now and very seldom see a shark but know they are there. may because we have more reefs ( rigs, pyramids, ships ) and the vis is not as good so cant see as far. in pcola all we dove was shipwrecks when i was diving.
3. Is it something a 14 year old can do?
yes a fourteen year old can do it, only advice is start small with the fish and work up.
4. We're you nervous about looking into the darkness in a distances underwater? I even got nervous snorkeling in Jamaica! Haha