Hooked when diving? - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Scuba Forums > General Scuba Chat

Old 01-05-2009, 08:05 PM   #1
Sailfish

Default Hooked when diving?

Just saw the thread where someone was asking what to do about the fishing v. diving situation on a wreck. Just curious if anyone has ever been hooked while diving over a wreck? I am a complete newb at diving and that is one thing that scares me (and cuda's).
polar21 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-05-2009, 08:15 PM   #2
Blue Marlin

Default RE: Hooked when diving?

My friend's wife was once snagged in her BC and was headed to the surface when he had to grab and hold her while we cut the line. an exciting accident with a damaged BC bladderand a story to tell.
Old 01-05-2009, 08:30 PM   #3
Sailfish

I have been wraped up in some heavy mono before that took me a while to cut loose but never hooked.

Old 01-05-2009, 10:18 PM   #4
White Marlin

I don't dive anymore, but I do fish. I would think a diver would put up a good fight, but don't want to bring em in the boat green, they might kick your butt.oke
Old 01-05-2009, 10:32 PM   #5
Sailfish

yes, I have been hooked once, but luckily it was by my wife who was a bubblewatcher... she is very small so I wasnt concerned....I just quickly grabbed my knife that is always within reach and cut the line...of course I put the lead in the sleeve of my wetsuit, they areto expensive to leave on the bottom...The funny part was seeing the excitement and frustration on my wifes face as she told us aboutthe big fishshe lost, but she was determined to keep trying to catch it again....I smiled and handed her the weight back and told her the story....we all had a good laugh about it......moral of the story.....

Always have a knife within reach of EITHER/BOTH hands....locate it centered in the chest or even carry two....you never know which hand will be incapacated for whatever reason....