Point may 8 - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Blue Water Fishing > Blue Water Reports

Old 05-08-2013, 10:04 PM   #1
Sailfish

Default Point may 8

Went to the point this morning for a little wahoo fishing. Wasn't the trip I was expecting after the sst image I studied the night before. We arrived at the point about 830 this morning to the sight of a huge rip pushing right along the 200 ft curve the one I was looking for. After a dead two hours to start off with I notice some birds working in the distance. A closer look reveals a school of 25-35# bft busting the water like its on fire. Needless to say I tried every trick I new to catch one but it just wasn't happening. I tried to drop my spread back way far that didn't work so then I tried the old drone spoon on 60 # flouro ridiculously far back by itself still nothing. I decided I would give it one last shot and run and gun them with chunks, still nothing! So I left the school after they went down somewhere just east of the squiggles. I started to work my way back to the point when I get the first sound of drag clicking all day. As I look back my buddy and I catch a glimpse of a 35# hoo 6 feet out of the water over the top of my right rigger bait. He lands and no clicker just a perfectly sliced ballyhoo right behind hook. So about 2 we decide its been a nice day but we have to put some meat in the box. Tried some jigging and bait fishing on some coops in 220ft nothing but 15# snapper. Final count 1 scamp 21".
Scruggspc is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-08-2013, 11:03 PM   #2
Snapper