How's the action off Gulf Shores, AL??? - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Blue Water Fishing > Blue Water Reports

Old 07-29-2008, 12:07 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default How's the action off Gulf Shores, AL???

<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl1_lblFullMessage><SPAN class=posttext>Hello, fellow Sportsmen -

I will be visting (actually contemplating a permanent move with the family) Gulf Shore, Alabama, and am wondering about the offshore action in this neck of the woods. I am a SE Florida resident and fish solely offshore in the Florida and Bahamian waters for dolphin, sailfish, wahoo, tuna and the like. I also do some deep dropping and love to dive and snorkel for lobster and hog snapper.

Anyone have experience in the waters off Gulf Shores? What are the target species in this area? Are there oil rigs this far north in the Gulf? I made a trip to Venice, LA, last month and the fishing around the oil rigs was fantastic. I lived on Florida's Gulf Coast back in the 90s and recall that the rule of thumb was a mile for every foot of depth to reach serious fishing water. How far out do you need to go in the northern Gulf for serious offshore angling opportunity?

Boating, fishing and all the stuff that goes along with it are what make my family's quality of life what it is. I need to make sure we have and will enjoy the same opportunity just outside of the Panhandle. Any information or feedback would be appreciated.

Tight lines!
MakeMyDay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-29-2008, 08:06 PM   #2
Mingo

Default RE: How's the action off Gulf Shores, AL???