YF Tuna Question - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Blue Water Fishing > Blue Water Fishing - General Q & A

Like Tree1Likes

Old 03-27-2008, 01:02 PM   #1
Ben
Cigar Minnow

Default YF Tuna Question

What is the best time of year to find YF at the Petronious and other rigs in that area? Is there a preferred water temp. I am new to YF fishing. Went with a group in Nov and have the YF bug bad now! Trying to learn all I can before I burn the fuel to go out there. Any tips appreciated.

Thanks

Ben
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-27-2008, 01:29 PM   #2
Trigger

Default RE: YF Tuna Question

YF are hit and miss. Maybe there for a week straight and then disappear. The "experts" on here will tell you they are always there, just deep and uncooperative at times. Typically the BF are always around, sometime annoyingly thick and times you are glad to scrape a few together.Last summer Mahiwere everywhere and hungry.

Water color/ clarityis a bigger deal than temp imo. Keep in mind it's 60+miles south of land. The water temp is going to floor in the upper 60's in jan/feb and top out in the upper 80's in july/aug. You have to be prepared to move around from Petronius/Horn/Beer Can, etc... until you find them. Reading here about water color is very helpful in deciding to go or not.The mooring buoy is gone from out there and was alwaysyour best friend when planning a trip out there.

How big is your boat? Fuel?
onoahi is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2008, 01:48 PM   #3
Ben
Cigar Minnow

If I understand you correctly, the YF bite is better the clearer/cleaner the water? I had heard the mooring buoy was gone, thats a shame. We are in a 36 Tiara Convertible. 400 gal tankage. Range should be ok.

Thanks

Ben
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-27-2008, 02:05 PM   #4
Trigger