Wahoo Trolling Speeds - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Blue Water Fishing > Blue Water Fishing - General Q & A

Old 12-15-2009, 04:24 PM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default Wahoo Trolling Speeds

OK, I'm new to this and have yet to catch a wahoo. I have some basic questions that I think may have been mostly answered by the earlier post. So, if I decided to head to the Nipple/Elbow area for trolling, is that a good site--and should I set out baits before I get to the deep water? How fast is "fast trolling?" My plans were to put out a couple of skirted ballyhoo rigs off of the outriggers, a couple of skirted lures with a weightoff of the stern, and a cedar plug way backin the middle. Maybe mix in a pink stretch 30 way back there too. Do I need to add a ballyhoo to the skirted lures, or just off of the outrigger lures?

Sorry for all of the questions, but I would hate to get skunked just because I didn't set it up right.
rutinvco is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-15-2009, 04:55 PM   #2
Squid technician
Grand Slam

Default RE: Wahoo Trolling Speeds

I've caught wahoo at virtually every speed up to 19 knots but all around 6-8 knots is perfect and also keeps you in that "all-around" speed for bills, dolphin, tuna, etc.

Noticing your mention of a stretch 25 or 30, I don't suggest mixing these with a normal spread if trolling at speeds in excess of 4-5 knots cause these deep divers have the tendency to wash out and spin which can tangle every line in your spread. If you want to pull deep divers go a little slower and to mix it up put out some naked horse ballyhoo. If rigged properly they will swim great at these slower speeds and the bigger size will catch a 'hoos attention better.
Saturday 9-9
Chris V is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2009, 08:07 PM   #3
Grouper