Venice or Grand Isle - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Blue Water Fishing > Blue Water Fishing - General Q & A

Old 11-11-2009, 03:46 PM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default Venice or Grand Isle

Here's the deal. Sold and financed a 21' deep V hull CapeCraft CC with a 150 yamaha to a guy that lives N of Grand Isle about 3 yrs ago. He's fallen on hard times and is going to have to give the boat back. I live in central GA and will be heading down to get the boat Nov 22. Would like to do some offshore fishing for wahoo and tuna if the weather is suitable on the 23rd and 24th. I've been 50 miles out with this boat in the Atlantic and the GOMback when I first owned it. I'm a novice blue water angler and have made several trips to the gulf stream off the GA coast in my current boat which is 80nm offshore. I've got an epirb and life raft and am careful aboutthe weather (the boat that I'm going to retrieve is in good shape and I am not looking for a safety lectureabout a single engine small boat). Would I be better off to plan on fishing out of Venice or Grand Isle? I'm alittle concerened about the fog in Venice that Ikeep reading about, but would much rather make the long run ina protected river to the fishinggrounds as opposed to open water like Grand Isle. However, no fog to deal with in Grand Isle.What depth waterare the rigs thatmore consistently hold wahoo in and how long a ride is it to get to them out of Venice (average from the end of the passes) and Grand Isle? I will inshorefish if the weather is nasty, but don't know much about it. Iwould gladly hirea captain from either location. There will be a total of 3 going (me, my son, anda fishing buddy). I wouldcharter a boat andcaptain, butthe guy going with mehas been hit with lots ofbills this month anddoesn't need to spend the cash. Advice would be greatly appreciated.
Go_Sic'm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-11-2009, 03:58 PM   #2