Novice Here with Questions - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Blue Water Fishing > Blue Water Fishing - General Q & A

Like Tree18Likes
  • 1 Post By Walton County
  • 2 Post By Chris V
  • 3 Post By Lady J
  • 9 Post By Chris V
  • 1 Post By Bryan_DESTIN_TRITON
  • 1 Post By Magic236
  • 1 Post By matttheboatman

Old 04-11-2018, 11:56 AM   #1
Snapper

Default Novice Here with Questions

I do not have much bluewater experience so I may be off base with some of my ideas so I could use some schooling.

I was wanting to get things ready for the coming season.
We intend to troll a 5 line spread. Baits most likely being Islanders, Yo Zuri bonita, Stretch, and maybe a naked ballyhoo.
I figured wire on the yozuri and Stretch and heavy mono for the rest. Again, being a novice here, am I on the right track? What size wire and what size mono if you are running 30W?
My plan is the following:
40lb mono with a bimini twist - to - 20' wind on leader with loop to loop connection - to - islander/ballyhoo
Repeat the above but use a wind on to a snap swivel with 6' of wire for yo zuri/stretch.
The more I read the more confused I get. I see folks running everything from 80lb-250lb and I don't really get why there is such a difference. I know experience will be the best teacher, I am hoping to shorten the learning curb with basic rigs that aren't overly complicated since we(crew) are so green.
Chris V likes this.
Walton County is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2018, 03:24 PM   #2
Squid technician
Grand Slam

Give me just a bit. I’ll write up some “shortcuts” for you.
Saturday 9-9
Chris V is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2018, 06:14 PM   #3
Snapper

Just follow what Chris V recommends and you canít go wrong. Tight Lines!
"Southern Xposure"

2008 SeaChaser 2400 OffShore w/300hp eTec (Lady J)
1998 World Cat 246sf w/twin 150hp Zukes (Altered States)