Ilanders - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Blue Water Fishing > Blue Water Fishing - General Q & A

Old 08-22-2009, 11:25 PM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default Ilanders

I've been trolling for three years and have had good success with a lot of different artifical baits. Othere than tuna I've never really used a lot of ballyhoo. Over the last month I've started to use ballyhoo in the spread. They seem to get a lot more hits but I'm getting a ton of short strikes and a bunch of half eaten ballyhoo. I'm sure it's because the hook is only half way back on the bait, am I messing up the rigging or doing something wrong? Is there a way to rig a stinger hook? I'm not a tournament guy so anyway to get the meat in the boat is great with me!

Thanks for the help, Ben
4wahoo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-23-2009, 09:27 AM   #2
Sailfish

Default RE: Ilanders

You can add a stinger hook via a small cable or heavy leader, but most don't due to the effect if has on the motion of the ballyhoo. We troll ballyhoo a lot once we are in over 600' of water and and I never get short strikes. If I use them in shallower water, bonita, kings, barracuda etc... will play havoc with them.

I started using imitation hoos this summer, Williamson's, Berkley Gulps and squid skirts and it would appear to me that they work just as well with a lot less hassle.

MScontender
2010 24 Hurricane Deck Boat
2001 Contender 25 (sold)
MSViking is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2009, 10:26 AM   #3
Mingo

Default RE: Ilanders

4wahoo: