Ballyhoo vs. Lures when trolling? and a few rigging questions - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Blue Water Fishing > Blue Water Fishing - General Q & A

Like Tree13Likes

Old 09-18-2015, 10:55 AM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default Ballyhoo vs. Lures when trolling? and a few rigging questions

I'm new to trolling but plan on giving it a shot in October if schedule and weather allows. The plan is to head out to the spur/nipple area and start dragging baits. I have 5 30w's but plan on trolling with four to keep it simple at the beginning. I will also be using outriggers. I honestly don't care to target a particular species yet and would be happy for just a knock down or two. I have three questions for you guys.

Question 1: I know trolling with ballyhoo seems to be the norm either skirted or naked. Any thoughts on trolling lures vs. ballyhoo. My plan is to stop by Sam's in Orange beach and invest in some Moldcraft or Williamson lures vs. ballyhoo and skirts. Would I be lowering my chances at a bite using lures vs. ballyhoo?

Question 2: I recently purchased a crimping kit and would like to us fluorocarbon leader vs. wire. What pound leader do you recommend and how long of a leader? I know there is a chance of a wahoo cutting me off but I like the idea of having several pre-made leaders ready to go. If I troll a stretch 30 or marauder than that will have wire.

Question 3: My reels are spooled with 30lb. mono. what do you guys recommend for attaching the leader? A snap swivel with or without bimini twist than a snap swivel for attaching lure?

Thank you in advanced for your help and advise.
THONAS J. RYAN likes this.
apporition77 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-18-2015, 11:37 AM   #2
Squid technician
Grand Slam