Whiting, Bonita, Bluefish and other Questions.. - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Piers and Bridges > Piers and Bridges - General Q & A
Register Fishing Photos FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Advertise

Old 01-01-2012, 10:09 PM   #1
Trigger

Default Whiting, Bonita, Bluefish and other Questions..

I'm relatively new to fishing. went out to the jettys today and caught a Bonita, 2 Bluefish, and a few ladyfish. I'm just curious how these fish taste, here is a list. Bluefish, Bonita, Whiting, and any other fish i can catch with a gotcha plug and a white rubber lure? I really don't know what else can be caught this way. I'd really like to catch redfish, and specks. I hear alot about bonita not bein very good, but anything would help. Thanks.
brtc is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-01-2012, 10:37 PM   #2
Sailfish

You will find few on here that will eat a ladyfish. They are bait. Most will not eat bonita and bluefish are suspect however I plan to try them after talking about them a bit on here this year.

Now, redfish, specks and whiting are all excellent. Good Luck

21 Cape Horn Offshore / 200 ETEC
osborne311 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2012, 09:35 AM   #3
Mingo

^^^he's right that most people won't eat the bonita and bluefish are also very much in the 'aquired taste' catagory. But a big key (if you do want to try them) is to bleed them quickly - as in...when you first catch them.