Ling Fishing - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Piers and Bridges > Piers and Bridges - General Q & A

Old 02-26-2010, 11:24 AM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default Ling Fishing

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to fishing, started last summer. So that means I missed out on last years cobia run.

I was wondering if anyone would be able to show me the ropes on ling fishing. I've got a rod/reel for i (Penn 8500/9ft Cobia Rod)

Any help is greatly appreciated, I'm hellbent on catching one this year

Thanks!
Silver is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-26-2010, 03:25 PM   #2
Trigger

Default RE: Ling Fishing

Since this is in the pier section, I am guessing that you are going to be fishing from the pier. The first thing I would do is find out what the rules for engagement are at your local pier. Do they yell first, or is it open fire? Second, get some good sunglasses and a hat that will go right down to them. I wear a something on my face too. This will help reduce the glare and improve your odds at being the first on see the fish. Second, go out to the pier and practice casting your jig. Pick out something in the water and fire at it. Try different distacnes. Casting from the peir or a tower is way different from casting formthe water level. The last piece of advice is to watch the reports and make sure you are there when they are running. You won't be the only one there, but find out if it is an early morning run or a just before dark bite.

Hope this helps,

Chris
chasintales is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2010, 03:35 PM   #3
Trigger

good sunglasses and spend every minute u possibly can out there.
jaceboat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-26-2010, 08:51 PM   #4
Sailfish

hey man we're gona get out there before too much longer. I got ya