I want to fish for kings off the Gulf State pier,Need help with setup - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Piers and Bridges > Piers and Bridges - General Q & A

Old 07-25-2009, 10:24 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default I want to fish for kings off the Gulf State pier,Need help with setup

I was at the pier this past week and had lots of fun and caught some good fish.But,I want to try my hand at king fishing.I have a 10' Ocean Master surf rod and a Pinnacle Absolute spinning reel that will hold 250 yds of 25lb line.Is this sufficient or do i need something different.I probably won't be back down until next summer but i want to start getting things gathered up now.Not looking to break the bank on a new setup.Thanks for the help.
punkin438 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-25-2009, 10:34 PM   #2
White Marlin

Default RE: I want to fish for kings off the Gulf State pier,Need help with setup

The rods most likely is to large,and the reel would probably do....don't need more than 20lb...alot only use 17lb...... I know I will get a bunch of crap but you can't beat an ugly stik for the money....an ocean series 7 1/2 to 8 ft.....I have turned 7ft. sharks with one and a 6500 peenreel...I thought it was going to break but never did....I do put them to the test....I do have a couple customs..... but the ugly stik blanks are awesome!!!

Bill
..........................................semi-RETIRED......
ironman172 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-25-2009, 10:40 PM   #3
Sailfish

Default RE: I want to fish for kings off the Gulf State pier,Need help with setup

i agree 10' rod is a bit much 8 is best but i also use a 9 some times and i use 15# test and have never had much problems just listen to what the regulars tell you and dont try to put to much pressure on the fish 4 - 6 lbs of drag is all you need