Catching Spanish or Red help. - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Piers and Bridges > Piers and Bridges - General Q & A

Old 05-17-2012, 05:02 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default Catching Spanish or Red help.

I'm kind of new to saltwater fishing, but I decided to give it a go last week. I went to Pensacola Three Mile Bridge bottom fishing and all I caught were small trouts and catfish. A guy there told me to use a slip bopper to catch Spanish mackerals and reds, but I was wondering about the depth I should have between my cork and hook. Also, is it better to fish near the shore or towards the end of the bridge? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
hsk3502 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2012, 06:28 PM   #2
White Marlin

Quote:
Originally Posted by hsk3502 View Post
I'm kind of new to saltwater fishing, but I decided to give it a go last week. I went to Pensacola Three Mile Bridge bottom fishing and all I caught were small trouts and catfish. A guy there told me to use a slip bopper to catch Spanish mackerals and reds, but I was wondering about the depth I should have between my cork and hook. Also, is it better to fish near the shore or towards the end of the bridge? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

I am by no means an expert... only been out there a hand full of times... but from what I have been showed and what has worked for me is to put the bait about 5 or 6 feet under the bobber for the spanish and about 7 or 8 feet down for the reds..... I am not sure if that is the perfect way, but I finally caught them doing it that way after being showed.. bottom fishing only gets you pinfish, cats and some trouts.... got to get the bait up off the bottom for the reds and spanish..