Trolling Gear - Rods/Reels? - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Old 08-02-2013, 10:13 AM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default Trolling Gear - Rods/Reels?

Looking to buy trolling rods / reels- what should I be looking at?

...I just bought T-top mounted outriggers for my single engine center console. Looks like I'll be running 5 lines trolling altogether (I've never used outriggers before). 1 from the center (t-top or leaning post), 1 from each corner of the boat and one from each outrigger.

I'm going to target kings mostly (6-8x year??) , but there will be nice days that we may go on out and target wahoo, dolphin, and some tuna if we can find them. (3-4x / year). I also bottom fish a couple times a month.

I currently have 2 Penn senator 6/0's on 50-80 lb boat rods that I use for bottom fishing, and I also have a couple of pier/boat spinning rods (Battle 6000, Penn 704, Mitchell 302)- all on 7' or longer 30 lb class rods.

I'd like to find some good used combos, (5 matching ones would be awesome- so that I could leave them rigged for trolling)- What should I be looking for? Penn 30 Wides? Shimano TLD 30? More 6/0's? Tiagras?

I'm an amatuer, but I'd like to gear up properly for trolling local waters.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

Also- would be willing to trade an old yamaha 225 2 stroke for rods/reels if anyone has some they want to get rid of.
davis_patrick82 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-02-2013, 10:51 AM   #2
Sailfish

TLD 25's and 30's. 2 speeds on the 30's if you can afford em. That's all you need!
gator7_5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-02-2013, 11:16 AM   #3
Grouper

Default Combos