Ono Island boat lift - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Old 03-23-2009, 04:41 PM   #1
Ruby Red Lip

Default Ono Island boat lift

I am fairly new to fishing out of perdido pass. I ussually fish from DI. I am thinking about using a buddy's boat lift that is on Ono. I got two questions: 1. How easy is it to get bait and where? ie pinfish trap, hardtails, croaker, squirrelfish etc..2.Where is the best marina to refuel and how much extra is the gas compared to regular gas stations?
tjkelly17 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-24-2009, 02:06 PM   #2
Trigger

Default RE: Ono Island boat lift

Last week gas was about $2.25 or so a gallon at Sun Harbor and San Roc Cay. What type of fishing are you doing?

You can get live shrimp on the water at either Romar Harbor Marina in Cotton Bayou past Zeke's or at Outcast bait right by the Marina Police station. Mo's Bait and Tackle on the Beachfront Road at Zeke's marina has live shrimp and bull minnow's by car.

Hardtails can be caught around the jetty's using a spoon. The best way to get pin fish is to just put a trap off the dock. Frozen baits like Cigar Minnows and Ballyhoo are over at J & M's.

Hope that helps.
BullBoxer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2009, 08:33 PM   #3
Ruby Red Lip

Thanks for the help. I mainly do bottom fishing, Snapper, AJ etc and whatever else will bite. Some trolling. Are the hardtails fairly consistent around the jetties? Thanks for the info. I want to do more trollin around the nipple/131 area . One more question, How far to the sw do start to come into the rigs that are S of gulf shores?
tjkelly17 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-24-2009, 08:53 PM   #4
Sailfish

Send a message via AIM to amarcafina Send a message via MSN to amarcafina