Offshore trolling rod questions - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Old 08-07-2013, 09:31 PM   #1
IT'S ALL GOOD !
Sailfish

Default Offshore trolling rod questions

I am new to offshore trolling. My question is: do you use a rod with full rollers, tip only and why ? I know there are people who are using braid with a topshot of mono and vise versa. Does the braid not work well with rollers and if not, why is that ? Is it because it can get caught between the rollers ?
Thanks for any help.
jcasey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-07-2013, 09:49 PM   #2
Squid technician
Grand Slam

There are many answers to these questions and no "right answer". I will say I prefer rollers for my trolling rods because they undoubtedly reduce friction far more than a ring guide. Now, there are many newer and much higher quality inserts in some guides that reduce the coefficient drastically, but there's just no substitute for rollers.

I have almost never had an issue with braid getting off of the roller and into the frame, but it has happened a couple times. Both times it was solved quickly and without damage.
Saturday 9-9
Chris V is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2013, 12:08 PM   #3
Kim
Blue Marlin

If you are going to pull the trigger and buy some trolling rigs it would be a good idea to go into one of the local tackle shops and have a talk with someone like Chris V and have a hands on with the rods and reels. The rod class size, the reel, the line, splice knots used are all important things to consider and will make fishing more fun out on the water.