Newbie help needed! - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Old 07-24-2011, 12:59 AM   #1
Penn Head
Cigar Minnow

Default Newbie help needed!

I am brand new to fishing in Destin and Would love any basic info on baits,rigs, types of rods etc... that you guys could send my way. I grew up surf fishing the Outer Banks of N.C. and this type of fishing down here is alot to try and take in. So any tips, pointers, advice will be greatly appreciated.
jabo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-24-2011, 04:40 AM   #2
Trigger

Hey there
Well, i'm not an expert myself, but i have caught some really fun fish of the shore in the gulf of mexico. I've always loved to used fresh bait. Cast nets always worked well for me. Usually caught mullet which you can see on the surface. Liphook one of those and toss it out with a good chunk of lead so you get far out there like you prob did in the atlantik. You can use pretty big hooks to avoid small fish, like 1/0 or so. I've fished most of the time with cheap walmart fishingpole/reel combo. They cost like 30-40$ and hold up real well. There are A LOT of fish you can catch from the shore. Even better are the piers though, people catch all kinda fish off of those. From shore i've caught trout, redfish, small shark, bluefish, ladyfish (no good to eat but maaan what a fight!!), syingrays, flounder, croakers of course, pompano.... I know destin has some awesome cobia fishing in the spring, never had the honor though.
Hope i was some help, if you have any questions, let me know
Paolo, tight lines
Paolo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2011, 10:46 AM   #3
Penn Head
Cigar Minnow

Thanks for the advice! Do you know of any good spots to catch bait?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-24-2011, 10:58 AM   #4
Trigger