New to offshore questions! - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Old 05-16-2010, 04:31 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default New to offshore questions!

Hi all I have a few questions as I am new to the offshore world as of last September. I usaully take the neighbors boys out 10, 11 and 14. They lost there father at very young age and have not had a man around at all. With me not having kids it works out hah.

Wehad a couple good runs last year before it got cold. This spring I have had very little luck, and am wondering what I need to learn to change this.

Getting expensive to go out and get skunked constantly so I hope I can get some advice to help increase my catch rate.

1. I have a HDS 5 Lowrance Fishfinder/Charter and it seems to work well. I usually put it in Shallow water mode and might adjust clairity a bitand sometimes increase the autosensitivty up 3-6%. I have gone overspots I caugth fish on last September and see very little fish returns this Spring. I had a friend give me some other spots and I see the structure fine but little tono fish. I of course drop lines anyway but nothing biting.

Any recommendations here?

2. I have some basic Penn 113's and a 114 reelsmost of which I picked up at pawn shops. I am using 80 lb mono on them. Is that to much? Does line color matter?Also how important is florocarbon leader? I just use the mono most of the time but with my luck down I am wondering...What is a good general hook size to catch Triggers and Snappers of decent size? How long should I make the drop leaders, what lb test leader?

3. I uselarge 2 spinning reels for trolling with 30 lbs test and usually a wire leader. These are nice reels I used for Pompano off thebeach previously.

4. I use squid, cut cigars, and of course live pin fish, live cigars when I have time to get them.