New to area... local fishing resources... tips - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Old 03-16-2011, 03:21 PM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default New to area... local fishing resources... tips

Hello, I am a newbie to the group and to the area... visited many times with wife's family and love it...

Anyway, coming from NC with general pond fishing knowledge and a little salt/brackish water river fishing (Neuse and Pamlico Rivers near the Atlantic).

Would love links, books, tips, etc on what type rod and setup etc for shore, pier, and close offshore fishing in small boat. I don't really even know what type fish to expect at this point... so I feel like a total beginner.

Any help appreciated!!

Thanks!
-cb
cb8892 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-16-2011, 04:15 PM   #2
Blue Marlin

Send a message via AIM to fisheye48

go in outcast or hotspots...and talk to them...both places are very knowledgeable and can help you more than books will
fisheye48 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2011, 06:26 PM   #3
Ruby Red Lip

I started fishing here about a year ago and have learned a lot about fishing here since then.

I started out fishing at the pier, I mainly targeted king fish. The main rig I would use for them is just a steel leader with a treble hook on the end, its pretty simple. I would use 20lb mono line too. I usually use a reel that can hold about 200yds of 20lb mono. A 7ft rod worked great for me.

With that setup I would buy frozen cigar minnows and hook them through the head. Then, I would go to the end of the pier and throw it out as far as possible and just let it drift.
Big Mack is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-16-2011, 06:30 PM   #4
Jiggin Finatic
Grand Slam