looking for some info on braided line - Pensacola Fishing Forum

Go Back   Pensacola Fishing Forum > Offshore Fishing > Offshore Fishing - General Q & A

Old 03-09-2011, 11:33 AM   #1
Cigar Minnow

Default looking for some info on braided line

hey guys i am new to fishing with braided line and want to know what are the best knots to use and some of the tricks to useing it .any info would help me out greatly thanks for your help.
kelly usmc is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-09-2011, 11:46 AM   #2
Jiggin Finatic
Grand Slam

This is my own personal opinion, so take it or leave it that is up to you. I HATE POWERPRO. To me it is garbage. The knots I use are uni for the actual attaching to spool, and a modified Albright for attaching leader. It slides thru guides better than a uni to uni because it is slimmer. What application are you looking to use it for?
lobsterman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2011, 11:50 AM   #3
Roll Tider
White Marlin

Use it like you would regular line.. Remember, there is no stretch in braid, so every inch you move your rod tip, it pretty much moves an inch at the hook. This can effect your hook up ratio. As for knots, I use a palomar or uni knot. For joining braid to an fluorocarbon leader, use a uni-uni knot.
Austin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-09-2011, 12:55 PM   #4
Squid technician
Grand Slam

George, don't hold back, what do you really think about it?

I have no problem with power pro but my 2 favorites are Tuf Line XP and Cortland Spectron.

I use a knot I made up for attaching straight to swivels and lures and attach it to mono or fluoro by doubling my braid with a bimini or australian braid and tying the mono with a no-name knot to the loop of the double. As slim as it gets and super strong.
Saturday 9-9
Chris V is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message